SAVE UNR FARMS continued..

I love Main Station Farm sticker

Update On Farm Bureau Priority Bill On Main Station Farm:  We have just received a couple of important pieces of information regarding SB 255, the measure Nevada Farm Bureau is strongly supporting in order to protect the University of Nevada from selling off portions of the Main Station Farm and redistributing the proceeds to non-agricultural purposes.  First, the Legislative Counsel Bureau has offered an opinion that the perspective of the University, suggesting that the bill and current law are unconstitutional, is unfounded with respect to the bill or current law.  If they wish to challenge the constitutional status of the law, they need to go to court for that question to be considered.

Senate Finance Committee Hearing Ahead For SB 255:  The second tidbit of important information regarding SB 255 is that the Senate Finance is planning to schedule a hearing.  Although we don’t know when (date or time) this hearing will be held, there is reason for optimism.  It is important that members of the Senate Finance Committee hear from those who support passage of the amended bill.

Finance Committee Members who need to be contacted:

Chairman Senator Debbie Smith – Office phone (775) 684-1433

Email: Debbie.Smith@sen.state.nv.us

Senator Joyce Woodhouse – Office phone (775) 684-1457

Email: Joyce.Woodhouse@sen.state.nv.us

Senator Mo Denis – Office phone (775) 684-1431

Email: Moises.Denis@sen.state.nv.us

Senator David Parks – Office phone (775) 684-6504

Email: David.Parks@sen.state.nv.us

Senator Pete Goicoechea – Office phone (775) 684-1447

Email: Pete.Goicoechea@sen.state.nv.us

Senator Ben Kieckhefer – Office phone (775) 684-1450

Email: Ben.Kieckhefer@sen.state.nv.us

Senator Michael Roberson – Office phone (775) 684-1481

Email: Michael.Roberson@sen.state.nv.us

Details Of Amended SB 255:  In developing your contacts with legislators the current version of the bill is very simple.  The amended bill says that the proceeds and rents from the sale or lease that has been owned and used or operated in conjunction with the Nevada Agricultural Research System may be used for current production agricultural education or applied research programs or the development of new programs; the development or expansion of production agricultural education programs at any other institution within the System of Higher Education; or if it is intended to not use the proceeds for either of these purposes a proposal from the Board of Regents needs to be approved by the Legislature or the Interim Finance Committee when the Legislature is not in session.

Powered by WordPress. Designed by Woo Themes